Day 19 Of Being Intentionally Thankful – November 19, 2013


Today, I’m thankful for choices. Seems like such an insignificant and somewhat trivial thing but when you really consider the options most of us have at our disposal, having choices is really rather large and prominent in our life.  Being able to make choices is pretty powerful. Having choices offers us much peace and holds so much freedom.  

CHOICES

For example, today my son woke with a sore throat and feeling none too perky. Well, because I am a woman who works at home, I didn’t have to leave him with someone while I reported to a job and a boss. I had a choice.  Because we homeschool, I didn’t have to cart him off to school or pay for a doctor’s visit that is unnecessary at this point. He is not sick enough for a doctor visit but most public and private schools require a note from the doctor or the absence is considered unexcused.  I had a choice.  Likewise, I have the choice to modify our lessons in light of his not feeling well.   For all this, I’m truly grateful.

As I pondered the matter of choices today, it came to me that we are given choices every day that many around the world may not have.  Here’s a quick list of just a few that came to mind that I personally have. 

I get to choose what clothing styles and outfits to wear each day. 

I can choose which of the several pairs of shoes that I own I will wear each day…or I can choose to not wear any at all. (That’s my most often choice. *grin*)

I can choose to wear makeup or not to wear it and to apply it in any way I  like.

I can choose to wear my hair up, down, curled, not curled, long, short or anything in between. I can also choose to cover it with a hat or scarf…or not. 

I can choose to wear jewelry or not wear it and I can choose what jewelry pieces I want to wear. 

I have a variety of food in the pantry and fridge, so I get to choose what I will eat and when I will eat. 

I have clean water to drink, so I get to choose when and how much I will drink and can stay healthy from drinking it. Likewise, I can choose to drink a variety of other beverages such as milk, tea, coffee, cola, hot chocolate or juice or whatever else my taste buds desire. 

I can choose the temperature on the thermostat of our home that is most comfortable to me and my family.

I can choose what I will read or watch on television or listen to on radio.

I get to choose what my child will learn and be exposed to as well as from whom he will learn from or be around that can influence his life.

I am able to choose when I will sleep and when I want to wake up and get up.

I can choose where and how I will worship and what I will believe based on my faith and relationship with God.

I get to choose how I spend my time, with whom I spend my time, and for how long. 

I can choose how I treat others, what I say or do and how I will react to any given situation or circumstance.

What’s more, I get to choose to have pets or not, to further my education or not, what career path I will take, how many children I want to have, what kind of car I want to drive, what stores I will shop in, what holidays I will celebrate and how and who I will vote for to sit in a seat of authority and government. I have the option to choose what hobbies I want to enjoy, who I will support, who I will be friends with, where I will live, how I will live and where and how my child will be educated.  I was able to choose who I would marry and what my child would be named as well as how we will raise him. And the list goes on and on. I believe that we can even make the choice to be happy or to be unhappy.  

Every day, we are presented with choices. Many of them, we most likely take for granted and don’t even consider the impact they make on us or others.   Every single thing we do is a choice. Every single moment of every single day, we are given a choice…actually numerous choices…on how our life will proceed and how that will transform into other choices.  Our choices affect us, they affect those around us and they affect generations after us.  Makes you really consider the words “Choose Wisely” doesn’t it?

I sincerely pray that our choices are not taken away….not even one of them….EVER.  All those many years ago when the early English settlers traveled across the miles and miles of ocean in search of a new land to call home, it was for the ability to have choices.  All those years ago, when brave men stood up, fought against the tyranny of a royal king and government to establish the nation of the United States of America, it was for the cause of having choices.  Through the years, as people have stood up, stepped out and fought against the many forces that have tried to take control, it has been for the right to have choices.  

Yes, I’m thankful for choices. Because having choices to make means I have options.   It means I have freedom.  And that is something that not everyone in this world enjoys.  No, I will not take the ability and right to make choices for granted.  Because without choices, we have no real life to live and enjoy. 

.

Until next time…..enjoy your at home world and be #IntentionallyThankful!

Signature

About Ginger Moore

I'm a fun-loving Christian wife and homeschooling mom, the founder, CEO and owner of Neos Creations Skin Care, and the founder of At Home Woman, a community and ministry for women. I love what I do and I do what I love. Although passionate about many things, my greatest passions are my roles as a christian, a wife, a mother and an independent small business owner. You will get to know me as I unfold before you on these pages. Since I'm often told that I'm a talker, I do hope that comes out through my fingertips as I write about my industry on the Neos Creations blog and reveal myself, my life and the world as I see it on the At Home Woman blog.

Posted on November 19, 2013, in At Home Extras & Tidbits, At Home Faith and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Choices are good, but give me too many choices and sometimes I can’t choose! 🙂

    • LOL! I know how that goes all too well. Like when you go to the store or shop and stand in an aisle trying to decide on a item or product that you are not already loyal in purchasing specifically. And oh the horror…..they have a gazillion different ones to choose from. Yikes!

  1. Pingback: Choices | michnavs

Leave a Reply

