Day 10 Of Being Intentionally Thankful – November 10, 2013


Today, I’m thankful for our little dog, Miss Dottie, sometimes called Dottie Belle.

.

2013-01-27 2013-01-27 001 001

.

We rescued her in January of this year from a local shelter. I saw her on the shelter’s Facebook page the same day she came in as a pick up by the animal control officer.  Like a did with every dog that showed up across the rescue sharing networks on social media, I showed her photo to my son.  He immediately fell in love with her and said, “I want her!”  We had no intention of getting another dog after just months before having to re-home an older pup we had adopted at 6 weeks old in December of 2012. That little beast…err….fella was not a good fit for our family and I wasn’t exactly “ready” for a new dog parenting adventure.

 

Well, upon discussing with the hubby, we arranged to “just go see her”. What a mess she was! Scared, obviously fresh from nursing puppies and not very social in the least, actually rather timid and stand-offish. But as God often does, He had a plan.  That little dog took to my son. She took to my husband. And she took to me.  She chose us as her family.  We asked the shelter volunteer to put our name as an adopter for her and picked her up when her 5 day hold was over. Before we got home, she had been named…for the dots on her fur coat, of course.

 

2013-01-03 2013-01-03 001 001

.

That was 10 months ago now.  Gosh, how that little timid and scared of her own shadow, beaten down dog has come into her full personality.  Our vet ages her as around 3 to 4 years old. We have no way of knowing for certain her breed blend but we think she is part chihuahua and part beagle from various features and characteristics.  We also think she was a puppy mill dog, being forced to have litter after litter of puppies for quick cash sell.  Poor baby!  She is a quick learner and trains so easily. I’ve trained her to clean her feet before coming inside after she goes outside and to lead on a leash well. She has learned to sit, dance on her hind legs, sit up pretty on her hind legs and bottom in a  “begging” pose, dance and speak on command along with several other fun and playful things, including singing with Mom.

 

And on my how Miss Dottie loves her people, especially her boy.  Just a couple of weeks after she came home with us, my son and I both caught some sort of nasty virus.  That furbaby would not leave my son’s side the entire time he was very feverish and sick. I had to make her go eat, drink and go out to potty. She desperately wanted to be near him, comforting him, keeping a close and watchful eye on him.  Of course my heart just melted over this.  Yep….She’s a keeper!  She has  turned out to be the best dog ever!

 

Dottie & Evan1

.

So thank you, Lord for Miss Dottie and your plan for her in our family.

Please, let me encourage you that if you are considering adding a furry love bug to your family, look at your local shelters and pet rescues for one instead of buying from a breeder.  Rescued animals have such an appreciative sense and attitude. They know and understand more than you can imagine and usually make the best pets.

Until next time….enjoy your at home world and be #IntentionallyThankful

Signature

About Ginger Moore

I'm a fun-loving Christian wife and homeschooling mom, the founder, CEO and owner of Neos Creations Skin Care, and the founder of At Home Woman, a community and ministry for women. I love what I do and I do what I love. Although passionate about many things, my greatest passions are my roles as a christian, a wife, a mother and an independent small business owner. You will get to know me as I unfold before you on these pages. Since I'm often told that I'm a talker, I do hope that comes out through my fingertips as I write about my industry on the Neos Creations blog and reveal myself, my life and the world as I see it on the At Home Woman blog.

Posted on November 10, 2013, in At Home Extras & Tidbits, At Home Faith, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I am grateful we had Ziggy in our lives for 16 years. She was The.Best.Dog.Ever. She’s been gone 3 years and we miss her still.

Leave a Reply

