Mucho Grande Layered Mexican Casserole/Dip


It’s football season! And that means the need for mucho grande yum while enjoying the game.  I thought I would share a quick and flavorful recipe that is great as a dip or a casserole for this week’s Real Meal Deal Monday in our Facebook community.  It’s cheesy, spicy and down right OmGosh good!  Really!! It’s like the ultimate nachos…….on steroids! 

This is my own creation out of my own need and love for an intense flavor explosion.  It’s designed to be very versatile and adaptable to your taste buds.  Give it a try.  Make it your own…the way you like it.  I think you’ll love how easy and tasty it is.

Just look at this easy and versatile recipe that can be adapted to fit a variety of needs and tastes.  Here it is pictured on plates with different toppings to give you an idea of the possibilities.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1-2 lbs ground beef (could use ground or shredded chicken, ground pork or other meat of choice)

  • Taco Seasoning Mix (1 packet per lb. of meat)

  • 1 lg. (31 oz) can refried beans

  • 1-1/2 cups white or brown rice (uncooked)

  • 2-4 cups shredded Mexican blend cheese

  • Plain tortilla chips or nacho flavored Doritos for scooping

OPTIONAL LAYERS

OPTIONAL TOPPINGS (use as many as you like layered on top)

PREPARATION DIRECTIONS

Cook ground beef (or other ground meat) in skillet until completely done.  Drain.  Return to skillet, add taco seasoning mix, cooking according to directions on the seasoning pack. (I add a little extra water to make a tad wetter meat mixture).  Cook rice according to directions. Heat the refried beans in the microwave or a saucepan on low with a little water or beef broth to make them loose and spreadable.

.

In 9” x 13” baking dish, a deep casserole dish, a roaster pan or a couple of smaller baking dishes (sprayed with cooking spray),  layer as follows:

Rice, refried beans, seasoned meat, optional layers of choice, shredded cheese.

Bake in the oven at 375 degrees until cheese is melted and bubbly.  Remove from oven, let cool slightly then start layering on your toppings of choice, either in the baking dish(s) or roaster pan. Or do it like we do here at our home, on our own warmed plates for each individual’s personal topping likes. The more layers, the more flavor you get with each bite and the more it becomes a mucho grande dish.

.

Serve it up as a casserole meal on warmed plates with tortilla chips or Doritos.  Serve in the baking dish as a warm dip with your tortilla chips or Doritos.
.

**This recipe adapts very easily to a person’s personal taste, as you can tell.  It can be mostly  assembled ahead of time and heated in the oven just before serving.  Simple, easy and tasty.  Kids (and the guys) love using the chips as scoops/spoons. Finger foods are so much fun! 

.

Doesn’t that sound yummers? Give it a try for your game day or for supper during the week.  I can almost promise you that your family or guests will go mucho grande loco for this dish.  

.
Enjoy your at home world! 

Signature

About Ginger Moore

I'm a fun-loving Christian wife and homeschooling mom, the founder, CEO and owner of Neos Creations Skin Care, and the founder of At Home Woman, a community and ministry for women. I love what I do and I do what I love. Although passionate about many things, my greatest passions are my roles as a christian, a wife, a mother and an independent small business owner. You will get to know me as I unfold before you on these pages. Since I'm often told that I'm a talker, I do hope that comes out through my fingertips as I write about my industry on the Neos Creations blog and reveal myself, my life and the world as I see it on the At Home Woman blog.

Posted on September 9, 2013, in At Home Recipes, The Real Meal Deal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Looks like a great dip that you can customize to your own taste.

Leave a Reply

