Hobo Dinner


I make this real meal deal about once a month at my house.  It’s one of those budget friendly, easy to make, easy to clean up meals that I am very fond of and is quickly becoming mandatory around here.  I mean it is seriously E-A-S-Y!  As always in my at home world, I shoot for foods that are versatile, flavorful and nutritious with a decent balance of proteins, carbs and veggies, which this one is.  Plus my guy loves it (so do kids and they can help make it) so that is a huge bonus.  This one is all that and a bag of chips! Ok, so chips are optional but that’s beside the point.

I hope you like it as much as we do and will drop back in here or at the At Home Woman community on Facebook with a comment to let me know what you think about this easy foil wrapped yum.  Ohhh…..Did I mention it is easy? *wink*

HOBO DINNER - A REAL MEAL DEAL from AT HOME WOMAN

HOBO DINNER – A REAL MEAL DEAL from AT HOME WOMAN

HOBO DINNER (makes 4-8 servings)

*Note: You can adjust the amount or # of veggies to serve more or less people. Rule of thumb is 3 – 4 oz of protein source, 1/4 – 1/2 cups of each veggie, 1 small ear of corn per person.

Ingredients:

1 lb. ground beef, pork, turkey or chicken (May also use meat chunks, sausage or cooked beans as the  source)

3-4 medium sized potatoes (peeled and cubed)

2 cups carrots (sliced or cubed)

1 large onion (chopped)

1 can (15-16 oz) green beans

1/2 cup of water or liquid broth/stock

Salt and pepper to taste

Herbs to taste if desired
.

Optional add ins or variations:  2 cups – cauliflower, broccoli florets, asparagus spears, leafy greens such as spinach or kale, radish slices, olives, tomatoes (fresh or canned), bell peppers, squash, cooked beans (kidney, pinto, black), 4 – 8 small (about 3″) ears of corn, any other veggie you may like

.

Ground Beef & Onion Layers - in foil lined baking dish

Ground Beef & Onion Layers – in foil lined baking dish

Directions: 

Line a 9″ x 13″ baking dish with heavy duty aluminum foil.  Begin layering ingredients in this lined pan, beginning with meat followed by a sprinkling of onions, then the veggies.

 

I like to sprinkle a handful of the onions between each layer and salt each layer as well.  You can put any herbs you may want to use within the layers too.

 

Layers 3 & 4 - Carrots and Green Beans

Layers 3 & 4 – Carrots and Green Beans

Once you have all your ingredients in the pan, add your water or broth/stock to help with moisture and flavor. Cover the filled pan tightly with aluminum foil.  

Hobo Dinner - Ready to cover and go into the oven.

Hobo Dinner – Ready to cover and go into the oven.

Bake in a preheated 400 degrees oven until potatoes and carrots are tender and meat is done all the way through. 

Serve with a crusty bread, rolls or cornbread if you like. 

 

Note:  You can also make individual serving pouches, putting enough of each ingredient in a sheet of aluminum foil and wrapping it into a “pouch pocket” with a couple of cubes of ice in each one as the moisture to help it steam in the pouch.  Also makes a good campfire or grill cooked meal. 


Whallah! Supper is on the table and it didn’t take too much work.  Bon A’Petit y’all!

Enjoy your at home world!

Signature

.

About Ginger Moore

I'm a fun-loving Christian wife and homeschooling mom, the founder, CEO and owner of Neos Creations Skin Care, and the founder of At Home Woman, a community and ministry for women. I love what I do and I do what I love. Although passionate about many things, my greatest passions are my roles as a christian, a wife, a mother and an independent small business owner. You will get to know me as I unfold before you on these pages. Since I'm often told that I'm a talker, I do hope that comes out through my fingertips as I write about my industry on the Neos Creations blog and reveal myself, my life and the world as I see it on the At Home Woman blog.

Posted on August 19, 2013, in At Home Recipes, The Real Meal Deal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

