Coconut Pecan Frosting


A family favorite, Coconut Pecan Frosting is best known as the frosting used on German Chocolate Cake.  But did you know it’s also great on brownies, cookies, pancakes, waffles, as a pudding topping, on ice cream and more?  But not that “from a can” or “boxed” store bought stuff. NO!  Nothing beats homemade from scratch.  I can (and have been known to) eat it straight from the pan.  Yeah, it’s that good! 

This is my own family recipe for this buttery, sweet oh so delicious frosting.  I’ve had a few requests for it so I thought I would pop it out to you really quickly.  It may look like a complex bite of deliciousness but you’ll be amazed at how easy it is to make.   German Chocolate Cake recipe not included. Enjoy!

German Chocolate Cake.

Coconut Pecan Frosting – shown on German Chocolate Cake. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

COCONUT PECAN FROSTING – makes 3 Cups

Mix together the following in a saucepan:

1 Cup evaporated milk

1 Cup sugar

3 egg yolks

1/2 Cup butter

1 tsp.  vanilla extract

Cook on not higher than medium heat, stirring constantly until thickened, about 12 minutes.  Remove from heat. 

Add: 

1 – 1/3 Cups sweetened flaked coconut

1 cup chopped pecans

Beat with mixing spoon until cool and thick.

Enjoy your at home world!

Signature

About Ginger Moore

I'm a fun-loving Christian wife and homeschooling mom, the founder, CEO and owner of Neos Creations Skin Care, and the founder of At Home Woman, a community and ministry for women. I love what I do and I do what I love. Although passionate about many things, my greatest passions are my roles as a christian, a wife, a mother and an independent small business owner. You will get to know me as I unfold before you on these pages. Since I'm often told that I'm a talker, I do hope that comes out through my fingertips as I write about my industry on the Neos Creations blog and reveal myself, my life and the world as I see it on the At Home Woman blog.

Posted on August 1, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

