Classic Diner Ham & Egg Salad


It’s the day after Easter.  It was, by all standards, a great holiday.  You celebrated the resurrection of Jesus Christ with your church family. Later,  the little ones enjoyed the best Easter egg hunt ever and your family chowed down a nice ham dinner.

Ham     Easter Eggs

But now you have a mess of ham and a pile of colorful hard boiled eggs left in the fridge.  What ever will you do with it all?

Well, have I got a Real Meal Deal recipe idea for you.  Beyond the ordinary and just a bit unconventional….just like me *tehehe*.  How does Classic Diner Ham & Egg Salad sound to you?  Yes, it’s my twist on two classic favorites.  It’s yummy on fresh bread, toast, hot biscuits or a warm croissant, in a pita pocket or a soft flour tortilla for a wrap. You can eat it alone, with crackers, stuffed in a tomato, on a bed of greens or with a green salad. Serve it hot or cold, for breakfast, lunch or supper.  It’s pretty versatile that way.  Plus, it’s EASY to make as well as economical.

I’ll give you the recipe for about 3 cups of finished salad but you can easily adapt to the amount you want to make. I’m sorry I don’t have a photo of this dish for you, but I haven’t made a batch of it yet this year.

 

CLASSIC DINER HAM & EGG SALAD

Ingredients:

1 cup cooked ham (finely chopped)

1 cup grated hard boiled eggs

3/4 to 1 Cup Mayonnaise or Miracle Whip (enough to wet, blend and hold the ingredients together well)

1/3 cup sweet pickle relish

2 teaspoons Dijon mustard (optional)

1 tablespoon drained pimento (optional)

1/4 teaspoon celery salt or celery seed

Salt and pepper to taste.

Parsley (fresh chopped or dried – to taste and visual appeal)

(If you like onion in your salad, you can add to taste. Chopped green onions are  nice and give a fresh spring flavor.) 

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together by hand until well incorporated. Refridgerate in an airtight bowl until ready to serve.  If serving hot, just heat (covered) in the oven until heated through, stirring well afterwards.

 

That’s it.  Easy peasy deliciousness.  I hope you enjoy my twist on two classic American diner favorites.

 

Signature

 

About Ginger Moore

I'm a fun-loving Christian wife and homeschooling mom, the founder, CEO and owner of Neos Creations Skin Care, and the founder of At Home Woman, a community and ministry for women. I love what I do and I do what I love. Although passionate about many things, my greatest passions are my roles as a christian, a wife, a mother and an independent small business owner. You will get to know me as I unfold before you on these pages. Since I'm often told that I'm a talker, I do hope that comes out through my fingertips as I write about my industry on the Neos Creations blog and reveal myself, my life and the world as I see it on the At Home Woman blog.

Posted on April 1, 2013, in At Home Recipes, The Real Meal Deal and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

