No One Size Fits All


If I’ve learned anything in all my years, it’s that there is always more than one way to do anything.  There is no one size fits all in day to day life.

The same goes for home education.  In fact, that’s one of the most wonderful things about educating your children at home.  There isn’t a cookie cutter approach to teaching methods, learning processes or even the lessons themselves.  There’s no blanket protocol or massive list of must do or stringent schedules to contend with.

Each day will present a new opportunity to break away from the plan and escape the box that we often find being strongly endorsed.  Even if you have a much planned out lesson agenda and schedule for the day, it’s flexible (or at least it should be).

I didn’t get up this morning with a plan to teach what you’re about to see, but it fell in my lap so I went with it.  What is it, you ask?  It’s one activity, many lessons and loads of fun and learning.

My son has collected wooden Thomas & Friends, Thomas’s Railway and Sodor Island items since he was about a year old.  If you’ve read other blog articles here or know me at all, you know that I’m an avid endorser of children learning through play. So today, when he asked to pull our his Thomas bag, his much loved toys became his school lessons.

Everything offers an opportunity for teaching and learning.

Everything offers an opportunity for teaching and learning.

Here he is, learning about simple angles, directions, mathematics, how steam is produced, elementary physics like cause & effect, basic engineering (suspension bridges, etc.), how to use deductive reasoning, how to problem solve and of course, some history on the railroad system, train engines and train cars.  A Thomas dvd was popped into the dvd player for lessons about acceptable behavior, emotions and reactions to situations (yes, we’re still working on that) and the benefits of teamwork. That’s a lot of learning wrapped up in so much fun!

Minutes turned into hours as my son asked and answered questions, created scenerios that required solutions and we discussed and played.   5 hours to be exact. And we both enjoyed every second of it.  Isn’t that what learning is really all about?  Enjoying the journey to knowledge and understanding.  I think so.  No….make that I know so!

There’s much more to a well rounded education besides textbooks, worksheets and tests.  Of this, I am 100% sure.

 

Until next time…enjoy your at home world!

Ginger Moore signature

 

.

About Ginger Moore

I'm a fun-loving Christian wife and homeschooling mom, the founder, CEO and owner of Neos Creations Skin Care, and the founder of At Home Woman, a community and ministry for women. I love what I do and I do what I love. Although passionate about many things, my greatest passions are my roles as a christian, a wife, a mother and an independent small business owner. You will get to know me as I unfold before you on these pages. Since I'm often told that I'm a talker, I do hope that comes out through my fingertips as I write about my industry on the Neos Creations blog and reveal myself, my life and the world as I see it on the At Home Woman blog.

Posted on December 11, 2012, in At Home Education and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Such a totally true observation – you are soooo right! Thanks for the mention and very best wishes.

Leave a Reply

