Ginger’s Hot & Hearty Soup (A Real Meal Deal)


After all the leftovers, I know you are ready for a change.  Nothing fits the bill this time of year quite like a pot of homemade soup.  Here’s a family favorite in my house all year long, but especially in the chill of cold weather. And best of all….IT’S EASY.  You pretty much just set it and forget it until suppertime.  And with leftovers, you can enjoy it for at least 2 meals in one week.

.

GINGER’S HOT & HEARTY SOUP (budget friendly & time saver)

Hot & Hearty Soup
It’s A Real Meal Deal

Ingredients

2 quarts beef broth

1 quart water

1 lg. can tomato sauce

1 can tomato paste

1 lg sweet onion (diced)

3-4 cups potato, cut into large bite size chunks

2 cups carrots, peeled and thickly sliced

2 cups green beans (frozen or canned – drained)

2 cups corn niblets (frozen or canned – drained)

1 lb, lean ground beef (cooked, crumbled & drained).  Use chunks of stew beef if preferred.

 ½ TBSP Italian seasoning

1 tsp. basil

1 tsp. oregano

2 tsp. garlic (minced)

½ tsp. celery seed

Salt & pepper to taste

Directions

In a large slow cooker, start building your soup by placing all ingredients into the crock, except the ground beef.   Stir well to incorporate.  Set the slow cooker on low, cover with lid and allow to cook for a couple of hours before adding your cooked and drained ground beef.  Reset cooker to low temp setting, cover and allow to cook slowly for 4-6 more hours (or until vegetables are really tender and broth is thickened as desired).  Stir occasionally to keep everything moving and cooking well.

Serve with hot cornbread or crusty bread.

*Add more water or broth for a thinner soup base. 

**Add more herbs & seasoning if desired

***Add any other vegetables you may want (spinach, kale, turnips, dried beans)

Variation

Exchange beef broth for chicken broth and beef for chicken, turkey or pork.

*

Enjoy your at home world!

.

About Ginger Moore

I'm a fun-loving Christian wife and homeschooling mom, the founder, CEO and owner of Neos Creations Skin Care, and the founder of At Home Woman, a community and ministry for women. I love what I do and I do what I love. Although passionate about many things, my greatest passions are my roles as a christian, a wife, a mother and an independent small business owner. You will get to know me as I unfold before you on these pages. Since I'm often told that I'm a talker, I do hope that comes out through my fingertips as I write about my industry on the Neos Creations blog and reveal myself, my life and the world as I see it on the At Home Woman blog.

Posted on November 29, 2012, in At Home Recipes, The Real Meal Deal and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

Leave a Reply

