Chicken Pot Pie and Vegetable Beef Casserole


‘Cause none of us are Martha or Paula
with a stage ready kitchen and an unlimited budget

This post marks the first in The Real Meal Deal recipe shares. WooHoo! Did you think it would never come? I wondered myself. *wink* Busyness sometimes just catches us up and entangles us to a degree. And that is why this sharing feature is such a great thing for all of us at home women. Because, let’s face it. Most of us are busy…make that very busy in our corner of the world.

I’m happy to share 2, yes TWO of my family’s favorites with you today. Both are easy and freezable for convenience. Both are tasty and satisfying. Both are easy to modify, customize to your taste and budget friendly. Both are a real meal deal.

I apologize that there is not a photo for the Chicken Pot Pie. I made it recently but just had a complete brain drain and forgot to snap the shutter.  Hey…it happens to the best of us.

I hope you will enjoy these real meal deals, share this post, and please comment on the post here, in the At Home Woman Facebook community and on Twitter.

Happy Cooking!

Ginger

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

Chicken Pot Pie

Filling:

1-1/2 lb. cooked chicken (cut into chunks)

1-1/2 cup  potatoes (peeled & diced)

1-1/2 cup carrots (peeled and diced)

1-1/2 cup green peas

 1 small onion (finely chopped)

½ cup celery (finely chopped)

2 cups chicken gravy (homemade or pre-made)

1 can cream of celery soup

1 can cream of chicken soup

2 tbsp milk or cream

2 tbsp butter

1 tsp. thyme

1 tsp. rosemary

Crust:

1-1/2 cup self rising flour

1/2 cup corn meal mix

1 cup + 2 tbsp. buttermilk

Garlic powder, paprika and parsley to top crust with

 

Directions:  In large pot or skillet,  sweat potatoes, carrots, onions, and celery in butter until tender.  Salt and pepper to taste.

In large saucepan, make or heat chicken gravy.  Add cream soups, milk/cream and herbs, heating throughout while whisking to make mixture smooth.   If gravy seems too thick, add a little chicken or vegetable broth until desired consistency.  Stir cooked chicken and  vegetables into gravy mixture.  Pour filling into generously sprayed baking dish.

In mixing bowl, combine flour, cornmeal and buttermilk to make a smooth batter. Pour evenly over the chicken & veggie filling.   Sprinkle with garlic powder, paprika and parsley.  Bake in preheated 350* oven for approximately 35 minutes or until crust is brown and done throughout.

Serve hot.  Enjoy the comfort and praise you get for a delicious meal. Only you will know it was easy as pie.

*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

.

Easy, Tasty, Just plain ole’ DELISH!

Vegetable Beef Casserole

1 lb. Ground beef

1 lg. Onion (chopped)

1 small can Mushrooms (drained) or fresh, sliced mushrooms

2 cups Green Peas & Carrots (frozen).**

3 cups Brown Gravy (prepared)

1 can Cream of Mushroom soup

1 package Egg Noodles (approximately 4 cups uncooked)

2 cups shredded cheese (your choice of kind, I like to use a blend)

Black pepper to taste.

**Can sub 1 cup broccoli florets & ¾ cup diced carrots or 2 cups frozen stir fry or mixed vegetables for peas & carrots.

Directions:  Brown ground beef in large skillet with chopped onion.  Drain.  Return to skillet on medium high heat.  Add brown gravy and cream of mushroom soup.  Stir to incorporate and heat throughout.  Add mushrooms and veggies.  Stir in.  Let simmer, covered, on low for approximately 15 – 20 minutes.

Spray a deep casserole dish generously with cooking spray.  Cook egg noodles according to directions and drain.  Layer cooked noodles into casserole dish. Pour and spread meat mixture over noodles.  Top with cheese.  Bake in preheated 375* oven until cheese is melted and bubbly.

Serve with warm crusty bread and a side salad for a complete and satisfying meal.

About Ginger Moore

I'm a fun-loving Christian wife and homeschooling mom, the founder, CEO and owner of Neos Creations Skin Care, and the founder of At Home Woman, a community and ministry for women. I love what I do and I do what I love. Although passionate about many things, my greatest passions are my roles as a christian, a wife, a mother and an independent small business owner. You will get to know me as I unfold before you on these pages. Since I'm often told that I'm a talker, I do hope that comes out through my fingertips as I write about my industry on the Neos Creations blog and reveal myself, my life and the world as I see it on the At Home Woman blog.

Posted on November 15, 2012, in At Home Recipes, The Real Meal Deal, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

Leave a Reply

