Recipe: Creamy Chicken and Veggie Stew


Cooler weather is approaching, calling for comfort food that warms the heart and the tummy. At least it does around here.

I posted this pic on my personal Facebook page last week with the status update of what it was and I was having it for supper.  Immediately there were comments and requests for the recipe to be put on At Home Woman.  Your wish is my pleasure.

I’m giving y’all the made from scratch version, but if you’re interested in the quick fix version (quick fix is in the photo), email me for the recipe, athomewoman@live.com. Both are good, hearty and very tasty.  This makes a large pot of stew, but no worries.  Leftovers (if you have any) are great warmed up, served over rice or noodles like a casserole or used as filling for chicken pot pie.

Don’t let all the ingredients scare you. This comes together pretty quickly and is completely cooked in just 1-3 hours. It’s pretty forgiving.  *You can make adjustments, leave out or add veggies or other ingredients if you like.

AT HOME WOMAN’S CREAMY CHICKEN AND VEGGIE STEW

INGREDIENTS

2-1/2 lbs. cooked chicken (boneless, cut into bite size chunks). *This can be grilled, roasted, boiled, sautéed.

3 C potatoes (bite size chunks)

3 C carrots (chopped)

2 stalks celery (finely chopped)

1 large onion (finely chopped)

2 C frozen green peas

1 C sliced green beans (drained if using canned) *optional

1 C chopped asparagus *optional

2 quarts chicken stock (homemade or canned)

1 quart vegetable broth (canned is fine)

1/2 C cream or milk

4 T butter or margarine

4 T flour

1 tsp each of poultry seasoning, rosemary, thyme, rubbed sage

1/2 tsp basil

Salt & pepper to taste

Garnish: Chopped parsley, shredded cheese and/or chopped green onion

*

DIRECTIONS

In large stock pot, melt 2 tablespoons of the butter over medium high heat. Saute’ onions, celery, and carrots until they begin to soften.

Reduce heat to medium. Add the remaining 2 tablespoons of butter. Allow to melt.

Add flour, stirring into the veggie and butter mixture, saturating the flour with the butter and vegetable juices.

Add the potatoes, remaining vegetables and chicken chunks. Give it a few stirs.

Add the herbs, salt and pepper.

Pour in the chicken stock and vegetable broth.  Bring just to a low boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat to gently simmer.

Cook until veggies are tender and sauce has thickened, stirring occasionally.

During last 10 or 15 minutes of cook time, pour the cream/milk in and stir to incorporate to make the sauce rich and creamy.**

Sauce should be like a gravy or creamed soup.***

Garnish as suggested or as desired in the bowl.

Serve with warm, crusty bread for a complete comfort meal.

**If sauce is not thick enough, blend a little corn starch (up to 1 T) into the cream or milk before pouring into the stew.

*** If sauce is too thick, add more chicken stock, stirring until you get the right consistency.

.

I hope you enjoy this At Home family favorite.  I’d love to hear how you and your family likes it.

.

About Ginger Moore

I'm a fun-loving Christian wife and homeschooling mom, the founder, CEO and owner of Neos Creations Skin Care, and the founder of At Home Woman, a community and ministry for women. I love what I do and I do what I love. Although passionate about many things, my greatest passions are my roles as a christian, a wife, a mother and an independent small business owner. You will get to know me as I unfold before you on these pages. Since I'm often told that I'm a talker, I do hope that comes out through my fingertips as I write about my industry on the Neos Creations blog and reveal myself, my life and the world as I see it on the At Home Woman blog.

Posted on September 26, 2012, in At Home Recipes, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

Leave a Reply

